Mount Cameroon


The Mount Cameroon TOU was created by Prime Ministerial decision No 016/PM of 22nd January 2003.

Geographical/Administrative Coverage

The TOU cuts across three divisions 3 Divisions: Fako, Meme, Ndian Divisions (9 Councils: Limbe 1, 2 & 3, Buea, Tiko, Muyuka, Mbonge, Bamusso, Idenau) covering a surface area of 246,157ha.


Cat 1 (Surface area >100,000ha )

Organisational Chart

  • Auspices: South West Regional Delegation of Forestry and Wildlife
  • Conservator: Divisional Delegate of Forestry and Wildlife For Fako
  • Chairperson of Management Committee: Governor of South West Region
  • Chairperson Technical Committee: TOU Conservator

Conservation Status

  • National Park: Mt Cameroon National Park, a portion of the proposed Ndongere NP (in the Bakassi mangroves)
  • Forest Reserves: Bomboko, Mokoko and Buea Forest Reserves (SBFR managed under the TOU), Mabeta-Kange Mangrove (zonage 5)
  • Community Forests: 4 – Bimbia-Bonadikombo, Etinde, Bakingili, Woteva
  • FMU:11008B and 11008A

Agro-Industrial Situation

  • PAMOL: Bonja
  • CDC :Boa-Plain, Idenau, Tiko, Buea, Limbe Muyuka,

Mining and Oil/Gas

  • KOSMOS Energy (02 blocks) in Mokoko and MCNP, but activities have slowed down.